Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Apartment Issues. Is this all legal and right? Please help...?

Ok so heres the whole story. We moved into our apartments June 12, 2009. We signed a 13 month lease which ended July 2009. We signed another lease, this time a 3 month, after that which just ended on October 31. We gave them our 60 day notice of leaving on September 18 but about a month ago we started having doubts baout leaving during the holidays so we talked to them about stayin and signing another 3 month lease. We never actually signed anything but I did give them a letter saying we would not be moving and we would be signing a new lease. Well we have been having so many problems here. The water is always out and its always an "emergency" but we never get a notcie before or after. Even when our water was out for 24 hours they never let anyone know. I had to jump through hoops to finally reach the right people who told me they had only called once (the water had been out for at least 12 hours by then) and no had been sent out yet. So they basically never called back to make sure someone would come out. They lied to us the hwole night saying it was the main pipe, then when i found out it wasnt they said it was the city and then turns out it was only the apartment. Theyve lost our money orders before and never told us. I got a notice saying we owed 70 something for our water bill and i called and after talking to them for awhile they finally realized i oweed onto my rent which was because they lost my money order. Finally we went to pay rent a couple weeks ago (one week early) and we were doing it online. I payed from two different accounts in two seperate payments. Well on the 4th which is also the first ay we get charged a late fee, they send us a notice saying the bank rejected our payment and we owe them over 300 more then our rent. I checked the accoutns (which our two seperate banks) and they both had the money in them and neither had any signs of use. no money being pulledo ut or returned or anything but the apartments keep saying it wasnt them. So we realized we hadnt yet signed the new 3 month lease. We decided we were sick of there stuff and we didnt have the money to pay what they wanted so we are applying to move. Well they say they are charging us for a broken lease (i guess since we are moving mid month even though we never signed a lease) and of course for two months rent (which i understand since we withdrew our original notice). Now my problem is the broken lease. Is that right? Can they charge us with that when we never signed a lease? Oh and they just gave us a notice of lockout in three days but they keep procrastinating on sending our information to the apartments we are trying to get into which is making it incredibly hard for us to leave before this lock out because they cant approve us without that info. Oh and I talked to on lady from the office yesterday and she didnt say one word about the lockout it wasnt until 15 minutes after i got off the phone with her she slipped it through my door even though I was inside obviously and had jsut spoken with her. Does anyone have any advice for us? Or do you know a number or site I can go on to find out more about these situations? Sorry for any typos. My keys are sticking and im in a hurry! Thanks!

No comments:

Post a Comment